Picture perfect

A picture frame, a place to put a portrait of a loved one or your favorite place. A plain structure that can be dull and expensive with no decorations to give it a good look. Don’t you want to make your own and for it to look nice?

Today, I will demonstrate how you can make a picture frame where you can put as many pictures as you’d like while still giving it your own style. It is simple and takes your creative side into consideration since you will be able to decorate it however you would like. You can paint or paste anything that comes to your mind for the fact that it will be your own personalized picture frame and only you can manage the end result. For this picture frame I will be making, I chose to give it my own sense of style and since I love objects that sparkle and are colorful, I decided to go with rainbows and glitter. Now, let’s go on to framing our favorite people and places.

Supplies (as shown on picture)

– cardboard

– glue

– yarn

– paint (white)

– paintbrush

– markers

– glitter

 

First

When I had gathered all of my supplies, I ended up cutting my piece of cardboard into a circle to make it more unique and not boring looking, like the rectangular frames you always find in stores. Since my cardboard had two sides, I went with the black side to save myself some time instead of painting it a different color. I took my paintbrush and the white paint and started painting clouds and the half circle of the rainbow body all over the board. I made sure I gave the outline a few coats of paint because the markers wouldn’t show a lot of color. Then, once everything was done, I started drawing in the rainbows with the markers. The coats of paint will be helpful because, in this step, if you just put a coat of paint, the color from the markers will not be able to be bright and it will look as if the markers had ran out of ink.

Second

Once I was done with the first step, I got the glue and the glitter and started pasting every piece of glitter individually. The glitter I had was multiple colors so to make it eye catching, I separated the colors and placed them in a random order making sure no two colors were next to each other. Yes, it was very difficult and time consuming, but in the end it was all worth it because it looked beautiful.

Third

Now, that I was almost done, all I needed was something to hold my pictures in place. I took my yarn and wrapped it around the frame with no exact direction (make sure that when you start wrapping, the yarn is taped or glued to secure it in place). You can change where your yarn will be positioned, just make sure it will not unravel, wrap it tightly. After this step, you can either tie the end with a back yarn string or tape it to stop the yarn from coming undone.

Finally, I am done, I can now place this frame on my wall or anywhere I would like. Adding the pictures is the most exciting part of this project. Now, enjoy adding your own personal style to your frame and placing your favorite memories in it.

Leave a comment